Tried and tested: A|wear

Last week I was invited to try and test out the shopping experience on online retailer A|wear. I have to admit I’d never heard of them before…

At first glance I wasn’t actually sure I’d find anything on  A|wear I really like – I am not particularly into trend-lead clothing after all. In terms of what’s on offer I’d say A|wear sits somewhere between New Look and Miss Selfridges. There’s your aviator jacket, your pussy bow blouse, your leopard print coat, good solid copies of current fashion trends, but nothing that would fuel my thirst for individual, stand-out pieces.

In terms of the shopping experience, I rather liked how key pieces were grouped together in themed collections, although rather disappointingly, the ‘Factory Girl’ selection wasn’t quite as Sixties as I’d hoped. Each item is described in detail and shoppers can leave feedback and rate items, something I found very valuable as not all feedback on the site is positive.

In the end I decided to go for this leopard print scarf (£12), a bird pattern jumper (£30) and some black Wayfairer-esque sunglasses (£4 in the sale).

The order arrived promptly within three days and each item was carefully wrapped in pink tissue paper –  a nice touch, the quality is surprisingly good too.

So would will I become an A|wear regular? Given that I’m into more quirky, vintage pieces probably not. But if you are looking for on trend items, the site is a great alternative to shopping on the highstreet.

Leave a Reply

