LFW review: Masha Ma

I’m not feeling too terribly well so I’ve had to miss lots of LFW shows, however I did mange to go to Masha Ma, whose previous collection of vintage influenced, couture-style tailoring had really impressed me (read my interview with her here).

Sadly, I wasn’t quite so convinced by her SS11 collection – it felt like I’d seen it all before. With a very mute colour pallet of white, light blue, beige and silver, the collection focused on expertly cut, layered jackets and skirts, a look that was given some much needed edge by plenty of silver jewellery – worn to look like knuckle dusters –  and  body-cage like straps and belts also in silver or beige.

The layering was clever, the cutting perfect and yet, for me it was missing something. Perhaps because her woman – always futuristic, always somewhat anchored in the past – has somewhat lost her glamour.

all images Amelia Gregory via Amelia’s Magazine

Leave a Reply

