New series: This is England’86

 

I really love Shane Meadow’s film This is England, and I’m excited to see Channel 4 is launching a new four-part drama in September – This is England ’86 – which revisits the film’s gang of friends three years on.

This could go horribly wrong, I mean why would you ever follow up on a film that’s just perfect, but here’s what Shane Meadows had to say:

“When I finished This Is England I had a wealth of material and unused ideas that I felt very keen to take further audiences seemed to really respond to the characters we created and out of my long standing relationship with Film4 and Channel 4 the idea for a television serial developed.  Not only did I want to take the story of the gang broader and deeper, I also saw in the experiences of the young in 1986 many resonances to now recession, lack of jobs, sense of the world at a turning point. Whereas the film told part of the story, the TV serial will tell the rest.”

In any case, the trailer and stills are looking promising, so I’ll be watching (if only for the Fred Perry on display)!

5 responses to “New series: This is England’86

  1. I’m beyond excited for this. I’m off to a cinema screening of the first episode on friday and Shane Meadows is doing a Q&A after. Stupidly giddy for it, he’s my favourite director at the moment and I loved This Is England.
    x

  2. It was amazing! The first episode is really funny and moving at the same time and they showed a teaser of what’s to come in following episodes. The series focuses mainly on Lol so I can’t wait to see how it all plays out. I’m trying really hard not to tell anyone about what happens but it does justice to the film. And Woody looks gorgeous.

    Laura
    x

  3. Personally I have no idea which “England” this is. When did people walk round in Fred Perries matched with Ben Sherman’s under Penguin cardies?!? It’s taken too much license and as such is too surreal, especially for 1986. Most British film is garbage and this typifies it.

Leave a Reply

