Like a sugar rush

This Saturday I had a peek around Islington boutique My Sugarland, which is just around the corner from where I live near Angel. Set up by stylist Zoe Lem, My Sugarland sells hand-picked vintage as well as established and new designers such as Terry de Havilland, PPQ, Hoss Intropia and Belle Sauvage – all favourites of mine.

The shop itself is like a treasure trove, I really didn’t know where to start so vast is the collection of pretty things on display. Vintage furniture adds a retro feel and there are lovingly selected little touches everywhere – I loved the collage of vintage wedding photos on one wall.

I’ve been to so many high-end designer shops which stock a  few vintage pieces – it seems to be the expected thing these days – but without any real passion for past fashions. So My Sugarland was a nice surprise, the collection of vintage really is outstanding, expensive of course, but I have never ever seen so many utterly beautiful dresses in such immaculate condition, I seriously had to force myself away from some amazing Edwardian summer dresses.

Another thing I really liked was that vintage and new were displayed together on the rails and not kept separated. To me that’s the way it should be, old and new mixed together, current and future vintage as one.

The shop also doubles as an event space, I picked up a flyer advertising a consultation and pampering evening with Zoe in October. It’s in my diary!

My Sugarland
402-404 St. John Street
London EC1V 4NJ

Leave a Reply

