Paris, je t’aime

I’ve been daydreaming about a long-overdue trip to Paris. Gosh, now that I think about it, I haven’t been once this year, how could I! If I had some serious money and could spend my dream weekend in Paris, here is what I would do:

My friend Tara who runs the fabulous, Paris-based  Oh La La Vintage has invited me so many times to spend a day with her, attending one of her vintage masterclasses and just spending the afternoon rummaging in her enormous treasure trove of vintage delights while sipping some champagne. Last time I saw her in London she gave me the most fantastic Forties red vintage dress (which I wore to Rhythm Riot), so I’d love to find out what other amazing gowns she has unearthed.

I could also do with a trip to my favourite Parisienne shopping mecca, the Marais. Free P Star (on 8 Rue Sainte Croix de la Bretonnerie), is supposed to be one of the best vintage shops in town, and affordable at that.  Come on Eileen (16-18 rue des Taillandiers) is another must recommended by my friend Lucie, who said it was like a fashion museum rather than a vintage shop. I just adore YSL and am dreaming of owning some Courrèges – not even mentioning Chanel – so I just must go there and check out their designer vintage section.

The Sant Ouen flea market is also top of my list, it’s the most enormous place stuffed full of antiques and vintage. Considering how much I love art deco (which originated at the Paris World Exposition), I’m sure I could spend a fortune there.

I also like the sound of the Passage du Grand Cerf, which has tons of craft stores and design shops.

Lastly, I’d love to just sit in a cafe, sip on a coffee, read the New York Herald Tribune and imagine I’m the terrific Jean Seberg in Breathless or the adorable Virginie Ledoyen in 8 Women

One response to “Paris, je t’aime

  1. Freep’star is the adress ! But I prefer les puces de Paris Saint Ouen as you mentionned it. You MUST go there next time you go t Paris. And before send me a mail I will give you top adresses.

Leave a Reply

